1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

OneRepublic - "Feel Again"

About.com Rating 4 Star Rating


OneRepublic -

OneRepublic - "Feel Again"

Courtesy Interscope

The Bottom Line

Watch Video

Purchase / Download

Ryan Tedder and company venture into gospel pop territory here on "Feel Again." The overall effect is irresistibly catchy and genuinely uplifting. What the song seems to lack in originality it makes up for in feeling sharp, fresh, and celebratory. This is an outstanding taster for the band's upcoming third studio album.


  • Expansive percussion filled arrangement
  • Uplifting lyrics
  • Gospel feel


  • Similarities to music by other artists


  • Written by Ryan Tedder, Brent Kutzle, Drew Brown, and Noel Zanacanella
  • Produced by Ryan Tedder
  • Released August 2012 by Interscope

Guide Review - OneRepublic - "Feel Again"

Ryan Tedder says that he is wanting to explore more of a gospel feel to OneRepublic's music and it shows here. That swaying, percussion laced singalong chorus is straight out of church. The backing chords as the song closes even feel a bit like a church organ. Much has been made about the similarities to the hand clapping rhythm track in Florence and the Machine's breakout hit "Dog Days Are Over." There is also an echo of the feel of the Killers' song "All These Things That I've Done." However, it seems much of the similarity may lie in the fact that those songs are heavily steeped in gospel sounds as well.

OneRepublic sounds like a huge band here. The big booming drum sounds and atmospheric keyboard chords give the mix a massive feel. That provides an inspiring backdrop for the words of loneliness erupting into the ability to "feel again." This song is an excellent addition to the OneRepublic catalog that includes other uplifting songs like "Good Life." In the right context, "Feel Again" might just inspire goosebumps.

OneRepublic have become adult pop mainstays. Five singles by the group have reached the top 10 at adult pop radio including two that went all the way to #1. "Feel Again" is already in the top 20 and has all the qualities that should make it a smash hit. The band is looking at a November or December 2012 release date for their album. This is an outstanding preview for that collection.

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Top 40/Pop
  4. Pop Song and Album Reviews
  5. Singles
  6. Review: OneRepublic - Feel Again

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.